Patisserie Deux Amis – French Deliciousness!

I stumbled upon this charming and small cafe while staying at a nearby hostel.  I stopped in one morning for breakfast since I had plenty of time and nowhere to run to. I am so glad I did!

Patisserie Duex Amis exterior
Patisserie Duex Amis exterior

With classical music in the background, softly inviting decor and perfect pastries displayed in tantalizing arrangements, I felt transported to a Parisian cafe with all its European flavor.  I did have a bit of trouble with the small seats as I am not a svelte size 2, but soon enough, I had myself comfortably arranged.

Patisserie Deux Amis interior
Patisserie Deux Amis interior

I ordered the mushroom and spinach quiche, the almond chocolate croissant and tea. Beautifully presented, I paused a moment, joyfully taking in the surroundings and the food on the table.  It was a feast for the eyes and a lift to my spirits.

I bit into the quiche and though the taste was satisfying, it was cold and I’m used to eating my quiche hot.  Next time I will just have to remember to ask them to warm the quiche, because yes, my friends, there WILL be a next time…even if it’s just for the croissants!

Mouth watering chocolate almond croissant and quiche!
Mouth watering chocolate almond croissant and quiche!

I have heard of people rave over French croissants for as long as I can remember.  I couldn’t understand why as I’ve had some very good croissants in the states, but I could live without them.  NOW I understand!  The subtle almond and chocolate flavoring were like a mixture of heaven in my mouth.  The croissant was flaky, light and buttery, but not oily.  It was just the right amount of sweetness and oh my goodness, I’ve seldom had a dessert that tasted that good!  (My mouth is watering right now remembering the taste.)

Inexpensive, delicious and beautiful…my three favorite words when it comes to any meal!  And Patisserie Deux Amis delivered on all three!  I highly recommend this charming, quiet cafe for all my readers!

Patisserie Deux Amis

63 Judd Street London WC1H 9QT

020 7383 7029

5 thoughts on “Patisserie Deux Amis – French Deliciousness!

  1. Great to know about this patisserie. If there is a next time, can you have the story behind the establishment as a separate post? I’m sure that would be a wonderful read!
    Thank you and have a nice stay!
    Manu

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Excellent idea Manu, I will certainly look into that. The next review is already written, but after that, I will try to include some of the history behind the place. Thank you for the feedback!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

